PRESS RELEASE Stockholm, Sweden, October 17, 2007

In accordance with the decision at the Annual General Meeting on September 25, 2007, Elekta’s Board Chairman Akbar Seddigh has October contacted the company’s largest shareholders to form an Election Committee. Subsequently, the shareholders agreeing to participate in the work of the Election Committee each nominated a representative.

The shareholders and representatives comprising the Nomination Committee are:

Anders Algotsson AFA Insurance

Jan-Erik Erenius AMF Pension

Laurent Leksell representing his private and companies’ holdings

Ole E. Dahl Orkla ASA

Åsa Nisell Swedbank Robur Funds

Combined, per September 30, 2007, these shareholders represented over 45 percent of the votes in Elekta AB.

The Election Committee held its first meeting on October 16, and appointed Laurent Leksell as chairman.

The Election Committee will form a proposal to the Board of Directors and prepare other matters prior to the Annual General Meeting on September 2008. The Committee’s assignment remains effective until a new Election Committee is appointed.

Shareholders wishing to submit proposals to Elekta’s Nomination Committee 2008 can contact the Nomination Committee by e-mail at valberedningen@elekta.com or by letter to: Elekta AB, Attention: Valberedningen, Box 7593, 103 93 Stockholm.