PRESS RELEASE Stockholm, Sweden, January 16, 2006

In accordance with the decision at the Annual General Meeting on September 21, 2005, Elekta’s Board Chairman Akbar Seddigh contacted the company’s largest shareholders during December and January to form a Nomination Committee. Consequently, the shareholders agreeing to participate in the work of the Nomination Committee each nominated a representative.

The Nomination Committee will form a proposal to the Board of Directors and prepare other matters prior to the Annual General Meeting on September 20, 2006.

The shareholders and representatives comprising the Nomination Committee are:

SEB Funds, Ann Ahlberg

Robur Funds, Åsa Nisell

Carnegie Funds, Henrik Rhenman

AMF Pension, Tor Marthin

Laurent Leksell

Combined, on December 31, 2005, these shareholders represented 42 percent of the votes in Elekta AB.

The Nomination Committee will elect a Chairman from among its members and its assignment remains effective until a new Nomination Committee is appointed.