Main Content

Search loading...

Leksell Radiosurgery Award

Elekta Recognition Program

Each year Elekta sponsors an award for the best paper on stereotactic radiosurgery related to brain tumors amongst the Tumor Section members of AANS and CNS. Winners are presented at the AANS Annual Meeting. On Monday April 16, the 2012 Leksell Radiosurgery Award was presented to Dr. Edward A. Monaco III from The University of Pittsburgh. 2012 marks the fourth year that the Leksell Radiosurgery Award has been presented. Previous winners are Dr. Robert Starke (2011), Dr. Reqeeb Haque (2010) and Dr. Isaac Yang (2009).


2013 Leksell Radiosurgery Award Recipient: Isabelle M. Germano, MD

Isabel GermanoIsabelle M. Germano, MD is a Tenured Professor of Neurosurgery, Neurology, and Oncological Sciences, in the Department of Neurosurgery at Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York, NY.

An internationally recognized neurosurgeon, Dr. Germano earned her MD at the University of Torino Medical School, Torino, Italy where she graduated valedictorian in 1984 with a neuroscience thesis on brain tumors histology. She then started a Neurology Residency at the same institution and was awarded a basic science grant on brain tumors. As part of her research, she transferred to the University of California San Francisco (UCSF), CA, where she worked in the Department of Neurosurgery as a researcher until 1987 when she started her Neurosurgery Residency at UCSF.

Dr. Germano continued her training at Zurich University Hospital, Zurich, Switzerland, then at Albert Einstein College of Medicine, New York, NY where she was the recipient of Congress of Neurological Surgeons Clinical Fellowship, and at The Montreal Neurological Institute, Montreal, Canada for a fellowship in epilepsy and movement disorders.

In 1993, Dr. Germano joined the Mount Sinai's Department of Neurosurgery as an Assistant Professor of Neurosurgery, was promoted to Associate Professor in 1997, and Professor in 2005. At The Mount Sinai Hospital, she established the Stereotactic and Image-guided Program, the Comprehensive Brain Tumor Program and the Radiosurgery Program. She is currently the Director of the Comprehensive Brain Tumor Program and Co-Director of the Radiosurgery Program.

Biographical information and picture from:

Your Feedback:

Send message Close window